top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOwen McNally

Level design

Updated: Jun 19, 2022

While our level was there before it was pretty crude and uninteresting so my task was to improve the overall level design and add a lot more detail to it.


The first thing I did for this was to flatten the current landscape we had as there was a lot of stretching and then I brought it back up in sections, making nice hills for assets to be placed on and laying out the general landscape. The Main goal was to open up the area compared to previous versions so assets could actually be spread out.


For the general landscape I liked the broken ship in the cove so I mostly kept that the same but for the rest I widened the side walls and tried to make them less straight so they’d look more natural. I liked the idea of having a middle hill in the back and then bridges going between that and the two sides of the map.


Another thing I did was add some mountains in the background and also a large aztec temple so the map looks a lot bigger and that you’re actually on an island.


The landscape i’ve added is meant to be very temporary and is there just to show the general form of the environment and to also make it easier to place assets along the hills. Once the assets are in whoever’s doing level design at that time will hopefully smooth out the hills and replace the back mountains with a more optimised version.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Team Management & Organisation (Overview)

For management of our project we used Discord for conversation and then 2 Trello boards for coding and assets ( I took up the job of organising the trello board to make sure that went smoothly). When

Final work on the Project

My final work on the project before submission has been getting the second character rigged and then animated in game. For this I again took the character into mixamo to get it rigged and then into un

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page