top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOwen McNally

Palm Tree

For the palm tree I wanted to really ensure that the asset looked natural as well as having the same style as the rest of our game so I took quite a long time editing this from multiple angles to try and ensure that no matter what angle you view the tree from it doesn’t just go straight up.


For the general Modelling technique I started with a simple cylinder and then scaled the top of it to give it a more natural feel for a chunk of a palm tree. I then extruded out from that and scaled it again, rinse and repeat, until I had the general size I wanted for the tree and then I went around the asset pulling the smaller chunks out to try and give the main angles of the model a unique S curve to them. For the leaves it was just planes I had edited and curved which I then copied, pasted and scaled to different sizes to make sure it didn't look to uniform.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Team Management & Organisation (Overview)

For management of our project we used Discord for conversation and then 2 Trello boards for coding and assets ( I took up the job of organising the trello board to make sure that went smoothly). When

Final work on the Project

My final work on the project before submission has been getting the second character rigged and then animated in game. For this I again took the character into mixamo to get it rigged and then into un

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page