top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOwen McNally

Playtesting

Updated: Jun 23, 2022

During our 2 playtesting slots with the BTECs I took a very leading role in it with my main task being collecting and taking notes during the playthroughs of our game. One thing I really wanted was critique both during and after their experience playing our game so we got people’s premier thoughts when playing and then their thought-out views about the game when having to reflect on their experience afterwards.


To Achieve this before the playtest I wrote up a questionnaire to be handed out to people after their time playing which sorted the later review and then I brought my iPad in to take notes during all the playthroughs to get the current thoughts when playing. Any time a player said something about the game or got into a habit when playing (for instance strafing, accuracy and shooting distance) I wrote it down and then afterwards I organised all the critique into sections to make it easier to find critique on certain topics - I also trimmed it down by removing duplicates and posting how many times certain critiques came up in.


The playtests for our game informed a lot of the subsequent work on the project including how we made models and what further things we made for our game (including powerups, the general game length and much more)



stead.


The organisation was fairly easy as I spent 2 and a half years working documents for a community server of over 10,000 people.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Team Management & Organisation (Overview)

For management of our project we used Discord for conversation and then 2 Trello boards for coding and assets ( I took up the job of organising the trello board to make sure that went smoothly). When

Final work on the Project

My final work on the project before submission has been getting the second character rigged and then animated in game. For this I again took the character into mixamo to get it rigged and then into un

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page