top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOwen McNally

The Easter Sprint Task

The Task:

​

Over the Easter sprint my task was to try and get as much of the animation as possible done for the character in the game as well as getting some larger environment models done. The actual wording for this was:


  • Animation/ Rigging (Mixamo)

  • Walking

  • Sprint

  • Shoot

  • Lock Characters Arm to Bazooka


Extension:

  • Implementing Animations to Character In Engine

  • Large Environment Models (e.g. Temple/ Statues)


My Progress:

Over this sprint I've been able to fully rig the character and export out the mixamo animations. I’ve also been able to get the animations fully working in the game.


Unfortunately due to a bug I've been having with exporting animations from blender, especially ones that have come from mixamo, I’ve been unable to edit the default animations that I downloaded and was also unable to Lock the character’s arm to the bazooka.


I’m still researching this issue and have found a few videos which could potentially help resolve this but for the moment until I can fix it the animations in the game will look fairly janky.


Extensions:

Due to the time its taken to research, integrate and troubleshoot the animation portion of my sprint task I was unable to do much of any modelling over this sprint however I did get the code working for animation in Unreal and i’ve also figured out how sockets work in Unreal meaning it’ll be very easy to attach the bazooka to the character once the animation is done and i’ve already attached the weapon in a test.


While testing the animation code I’d done I realised strafe walking looked a bit weird so an extension i’m setting for myself for the next sprint, apart from getting the animations properly edited, is adding in code for strafe walking as well as the side dash animation so it doesn’t look as janky.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Team Management & Organisation (Overview)

For management of our project we used Discord for conversation and then 2 Trello boards for coding and assets ( I took up the job of organising the trello board to make sure that went smoothly). When

Final work on the Project

My final work on the project before submission has been getting the second character rigged and then animated in game. For this I again took the character into mixamo to get it rigged and then into un

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page